.....where champions are made!

Blog categories

Practice and Junior “Come-and-Try” – Saturday 1st June and Taree Motorcycle Club Championship Round 4 – Sunday 2nd June 2019

Posted on June 4, 2019 by Administrator

On the weekend of the Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd of June, motorcycling action was on the program at Taree Motorcycle Club’s Old Bar Roadside Circuit with Practice and “Come-and-Try” on Saturday and the Club’s Championship Round 4 on Sunday.

The Club was very pleased with the attendance at all of the events over the weekend.

Young Juniors, Alicia Erickson, Liam Erickson, Riley Fazio, Carter Fergus, David Fergus, Beau Hawksford, Luke Hawksford, Mitchell Lyon and Tyrell Morris attended the Club’s “Come-and-Try” activities on Saturday to learn skills and have fun. The activities were run by Club Vice-President, Ian Bisley, Treasurer, Craig Nelson and President, Troy Baker with assistance from parent helpers.

Previous “Come-and-Try” participant, Tyler Harrison, competed at the grass track event at Kempsey on 26th May and participated in his first practice day on Saturday and his first race day on Sunday at his home oil track over the weekend.

Some Senior and many Junior local and visiting riders took advantage of the opportunity for practising one day and racing the next at Taree.

Visiting riders came from nearby and others travelled considerable distances – including from Kempsey, Gunnedah, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Hunter, Central Coast, Sydney surrounds, South-Western NSW, Brisbane and more – for Practice on Saturday and the Club’s Championship Round 4 race day on Sunday 2nd June.

A number of families and individuals stayed in the area over the weekend to take advantage of the motorcycling opportunities, particularly those families with riders entered in the upcoming NSW Junior Dirt Track Championship on the weekend of the 13th and 14th of July at Taree’s Old Bar Roadside Circuit.

It was also great to see a number of families had multiple generations attending the race meeting – riding, supporting, spectating and even volunteering help. The Sport of Motorcycling can be all-inclusive.

Taree Motorcycle Club thanks every one of the Juniors who rode at the Club Championship Round 4 – (alphabetically) Alexander Adamson, Jacob Adamson, Beau Bailey, Mitch Bisley, Will Bisley, Bodie Cardinale, Noah Cardinale, Talon Cardinale, Eason Cross, Jay Fouracre, Boston Gore, Hayden Grant, Tyler Harrison, Hugh Hope-Hodgetts, Bailey Lennon, Hayden Lennon, Jed Louis, Hayden Nelson, Blake Nicholson, Harvey Nicholson, Thoren Openshaw, Braith Piper, Mitchell Provost, Katarna Robinson, Lachlan Russell, Ryan Smith, Levi Sutherland, Branden Sydenham, Chayse Trappell and Cooper Williams.

Many of the Junior competing at Sunday’s race meeting entered in a number of classes, with three point-scoring rounds in each class. A fourth, non point-scoring round was run on the long track for both the Junior and Senior riders.

Will Bisley achieved two 1st and one 2nd placing and Ryan Smith achieved two 1st placings. Bodie Cardinale, Tyler Harrison, Hayden Nelson and Cooper Williams each achieved a 1st placing. Thoren Openshaw achieved a 1st and two 3rd placings and Hugh Hope-Hodgetts, a 1st and a 3rd placing. Beau Bailey and Mitch Bisley both achieved two 2nd placings. Harvey Nicholson achieved a 2nd and a 3rd placing
and Jacob Adamson, Noah Cardinale, Bailey Lennon and Chayse Trappel achieved a 2nd placing each. Jay Fouracre achieved two 3rd placings and Eason Cross, Braith Piper and Lachlan Russell each achieved a 3rd placing.

Taree Motorcycle Club thanks all Seniors who rode at the Club Championship Round 4. Young Seniors Kye Andrews and Beau Baff joined Dale Austin, Ken Bisley, Craig Clark, Daniel Evans, Callum Gore and John Openshaw in the Senior races on Sunday. Dale, Craig and Callum had a busy day with all competing in four (4) different classes over three (3) rounds; Kye and Daniel competing in three (3) classes; and Beau, Ken and John all racing in two (2) classes.

While all competing Seniors earned one or more places on the podium, Ken Bisley achieved two 1st placings at the Championship round. Kye Andrews achieved a 1st, a 2nd and a 3rd placing. Dale Austin achieved a 1st and two 2nd placings, Callum Gore achieved a 1st and a 2nd placing, John Openshaw achieved a 1st and a 3rd placing and Craig Clark a 1st placing. Beau Baff and Daniel Evans both achieved a 2nd and a 3rd placing each.

Experienced motorcycle rider, visitor Senior Craig Clark, had travelled from Brisbane to Taree for the weekend to experience his first practice and then first race meeting on an oiled dirt track.

Full results were as follows:


50cc Demo – Division 1 4-U9yrs
Blake Nicholson, Boston Gore, Levi Sutherland
50cc Auto Division 2 7-U9yrs
1st Bodie Cardinale, 2nd Chayse Trappel, 3rd Eason Cross
65cc 7-U9yrs
1st Hugh Hope-Hodgetts, 2nd Jacob Adamson, 3rd Harvey Nicholson
85cc 4 Stroke Modified 8-U11yrs
1st William Bisley, 2nd Bailey Lennon, 3rd Hugh Hope-Hodgetts
80 – 125cc Trail Bike 8-U12yrs
1st Tyler Harrison, 2nd Harvey Nicholson
65cc 9-U13yrs
1st Thoren Openshaw, 2nd Beau Bailey, 3rd Lachlan Russell
85cc 2st/150cc 4st 9-U13yrs
1st William Bisley, 2nd Beau Bailey, 3rd Thoren Openshaw
85cc 2st/150cc 4st 11-U15yrs
1st Hayden Nelson, 2nd William Bisley, 3rd Thoren Openshaw
85cc 2st/150cc 4st 12-U16yrs
1st Cooper Williams, 2nd Noah Cardinale, 3rd Braith Piper
Junior combined 13-U16yrs
1st Ryan Smith, 2nd Mitchell Bisley, 3rd Jay Fouracre
Jnr 250cc 4Stk – 13-U16yrs
1st Ryan Smith, 2nd Mitchell Bisley, 3rd Jay Fouracre


1st John Openshaw, 2nd Callum Gore
Women’s – Open
1st Dale Austin
Over 35’s
1st Kenneth Bisley, 2nd Daniel Evans, 3rd John Openshaw
19″ Flat Track – Singles All
1st Craig Clark, 2nd Dale Austin
250 – Open
1st Callum Gore, 2nd Dale Austin, 3rd Kye Andrews
Pro 450
1st Kye Andrews, 2nd Beau Baff, 122 Daniel Evans
Pro Open – All Powers
1st Kenneth Bisley, 2nd Kye Andrews, 3rd Beau Baff

Well done to all Junior and Senior riders who competed at Taree Motorcycle Club’s Championship Round 4 and congratulations to those who achieved podium finishes on the day.

Taree Motorcycle Club thanks all riders, rider support crews, officials, volunteers and spectators who took part in the weekend and thanks to Scott Calvin, Manning River Times’ photographer, for coming to the track on Sunday.