Warning: Illegal string offset 'acf_fc_layout' in /home/customer/www/tareemotorcycleclub.com.au/public_html/wp-content/themes/main/inc/well-cms/class-custom-hero-image.php on line 62


.....where champions are made!

Blog categories

Results Round 5 – Australian Superbikes Championship and Taree Motorcycle Club Championship

Posted on August 21, 2018 by Administrator

As Round 4 of the Taree Motorcycle Club Championship coincided with Round 4 of the 2018 Australian Superbike (ASBK) Championship, necessary reorganisation of the Taree Motorcycle Club program resulted in Round 5 of the Club Championship being held on the same weekend that Round 5 of the ASBK Championship was being contested at Morgan Park, Warwick in Queensland.

On Friday 17th August during practice at Morgan Park, three-time World Superbike Champion, Troy Bayliss (Desmosport Ducati, 1299 FE), rode the fastest lap of the day clocking a “blistering” 1:12.923, with current Yamaha Motor Insurance (YMI) Australian Superbike Championship leader, Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing, CBR1000SP), clocking a 1:13.042.

Roadracing World Publishing reported on Friday that as Bayliss and Herfoss had “battled it out” in Round 4 at Hidden Valley, Darwin, it could be much of the same at Morgan Park.

MC News reported that in qualifying on Saturday 18th, both Herfoss and Bayliss had put in “blinding” laps, with a new 1m12.65s outright motorcycle lap record for Herfoss giving him pole position, with Bayliss only fractionally behind.

ASBK news reported that leading up to the weekend, it was always going to be the battle of Troy after practice on Friday, and it lived up to expectations, with Bayliss and Herfoss having two “epic battles” in both races, but with Herfoss getting both wins.

The report commented that the speed Bayliss carried throughout the two races was captivating and that breaking the race lap record during race two just showed he was on it this weekend.

The results for the Australian Superbike races on Sunday 19th were Troy Herfoss 1st (17:19.961) and Troy Bayliss 2nd (17:21.044) in Race 1 and Troy Herfoss 1st and Troy Bayliss 4th in Race 2.

After Round 5 at Morgan Park, the Provisional Progressive Championship Points in the YMI Australian Superbike Championship are 1st Troy Herfoss on 256.5; 2nd Wayne Maxwell on 212; 3rd Troy Bayliss on 194; and 4th Daniel Falzon on 186 points.

Bayliss was also placed third in the Championship after Round 4.

Troy Bayliss’ son, Oli (Cube Racing Kawasaki Ninja), was also racing at Morgan Park on the weekend, contesting the Australian Supersport 300 Championship.

Oli finished 6th in Race 1; 4th in Race 2; and 8th in Race 3.

After Round 5, the Provisional Progressive Series Points for the Australian Supersports 300 Championship are 1st Tom Bramich on 282 points; 2nd Zac Levy on 252 points; and 3rd Oli Bayliss on 220 points.

Oli has moved up a place having been in 4th position in the Championship after Round 4.

While Troy and Oli were racing in Queensland, on Sunday 19th August, Round 5 of the Taree Motorcycle Club Championship was well attended at the Old Bar Roadside complex (where the three times World Superbike Champion raced motorcycles with the Club in his earlier years).

In addition to those riders who have competed in the Club Championship rounds throughout the year, as anticipated, riders who are entered in the upcoming Akubra Class at Kempsey on Sunday 26th, took the opportunity to hone their skills on Taree’s oil track.

Included in the list of visitors racing on Sunday was dirt track legend, Paul Caslick.

There were eighteen (18) classes contested for Round 5 click here for results:

The Club would like to congratulate all riders who competed on Sunday, whether placed or not, and hopes they had an enjoyable day of racing.

A particular mention goes to the following riders who achieved first (1st) placings in the same class for both Round 4 and Round 5 of the Club Championship:

Zane Hopkins in the 65cc 7-U9yrs; Bailey Lennon in the 85cc Standard Wheel 11-13yrs; Hayden Lennon in the 85cc Standard Wheel 13-16yrs; Mitch Bisley in the 85cc Big Wheel 13-16yrs; Blake Wilby in the 100 to 150cc 13-U16yrs; John Openshaw in the Clubman’s; and Dale Austin in the Women’s.

Kye Andrews was eligible to compete in the Australian Junior Dirt Track Championships on the 12th August and by the 19th, he was eligible to compete in the Senior classes. On Sunday, Kye held his own against the Seniors, being placed 1st in the Pro 250s; 2nd in the Pro 450s; and 2nd in the Pro-Open classes.

Taree Motorcycle Club also extends its appreciation to the spectators (and riders) for their Gold coin admission donations that raised approximately $145.00 to go towards helping our farmers in need.

The committee’s thanks are extended to the officials and volunteers for their support at the meeting.

A Practice Day was to be held on Saturday 1st September but will now be used as a working bee for track and ground maintenance.

For further information, Taree Motorcycle Club President, Troy Baker, can be contacted on mobile 0499 818 248 and Club Vice President, Sam Lennon, on 0429 913 177.