.....where champions are made!

Blog categories

Taree Motorcycle Club Championship Round 2 – Sunday 5th May 2019

Posted on May 7, 2019 by Administrator

(Results provided Race Secretary, Lise Olsen)


On Sunday 5th May 2019, Taree Motorcycle Club held Round 2 of its Club Championship.

The rain on Saturday had the Taree Motorcycle Club committee monitoring their oiled dirt track but with the clearing of the clouds, the gates were opened at the Old Bar Roadside Circuit on Sunday at 8:00am for the Championship Day with the weather right for dirt track racing.

The Club was not only pleased with the number of both Senior and Junior riders who entered the event but was also impressed by the quality of riding at the race meeting.

As well as the progress of developing riders and the ability of those more seasoned young riders being on show in the Junior classes, Sunday’s Championship event offered exciting and close racing between accomplished and experienced Senior competitors, with their well-honed motorcycling skills on full display in the Senior classes.

Taree Motorcycle Club was pleased to welcome its own, and a contingent of visiting, Seniors to the grids at the Championship Round 2. The Club thanks Kye Andrews, Dale Austin, Beau Baff, Ken Bisley, James Chapman, Daniel Evans, John Openshaw, Jarryd Oram, Josh Scott, Luke Turner and Lewis Tyne for coming.

Taree’s Ken Bisley, fresh from his 1st placing in the Over 35s’ Class and 3rd placing in the MX Open Class at the ‘Coast v Country’ race meeting the weekend before, was again fast on his home track claiming another win in the Over 35s’ Class on Sunday. Ken was also placed 1st in the Pro Open on Sunday, with Taree’s young Senior and previous Australian Junior Champion, Kye Andrews, placed 2nd behind him.

Dale Austin came in 2nd in the Pro 250 Class and 1st in the Women’s Class at the Championship round.

On Sunday, Kempsey’s James Chapman competed in the Championship round after achieving four (4) podium finishes (riding for Taree) at the ‘Coast v Country’ event the weekend before and two (2) podiums finishes at Taree’s Twilight Open Race Meeting in January this year.

Kempsey’s Jarryd Oram, who won the Open Class at the January Twilight event, also rode at Taree on Sunday.

Beau Baff, who rode for Taree at the ‘Coast v Country’ interclub race meeting, and Josh Scott and Lewis Tyne, were among the visiting Kempsey riders who were competitive on Sunday. Beau Baff won one (1) class at the Championship round and Josh Scott won three (3) classes.

Taree Motorcycle Club was also pleased to welcome all the Juniors, Taree and visiting, to the Championship Round 2 – some were building on their number of rides and further developing their skills and others had extensive hours of track time and experience in racing. The Club thanks Mitch Bisley, Will Bisley, Eason Cross, Hayden Grant, Zane Hopkins, Bailey Lennon, Hayden Lennon, Hayden Nelson, Blake Nicholson, Harvey Nicholson, Thoren Openshaw, Mitchell Provost, Sonny Spurgin and Logan Turner for coming.

Taree’s Mitch Bisley and Will Bisley achieved 1st place in two (2) Junior classes each, while Hayden Grant, Hayden Nelson, Zane Hopkins, Harvey Nicholson and Thoren Openshaw achieved 1st place in one (1) event each.

At the ‘Coast v Country’ event the weekend before, Mitch Bisley had achieved three (3) 1st placings, while Will Bisley and Zane Hopkins each achieved two (2) 1st placings.

While both Seniors and Juniors are of great importance to us, Motorcycling Australia states that “Junior riders are the future of Motorcycle Sport.”

Particular mention goes to four (4) year old Blake Nicholson #15, from Macleay District (Kempsey) Motorcycle Club, who rode in the Demonstration Class. At Kempsey’s most recent Practice Day, Blake was still on training wheels and his first ride on a race track was on Sunday at the Taree Championship event. We hope to see more of young Blake on his bike completing laps – which he certainly enjoyed doing on Sunday.

Many of the Seniors who raced at Taree on Sunday will be competing on this coming weekend in the 2019 NSW Senior Dirt Track Championships at Macleay District (Kempsey) Motorcycle Club’s Greenhill Speedway and TMC will also be represented in the Junior support classes at the event.

More racing action is programmed for Taree’s Old Bar Roadside Circuit with Round 3 of the Club Championship to be held on Sunday 19th May and the Club is confident that the day will be as exciting as Round 2.

Results for Taree Motorcycle Club Championship Round 2 are as follows:


1st Beau Baff #169, 2nd John Openshaw #72, 3rd Lewis Tyne #L27

Over 35s’
1st Ken Bisley #46, 2nd Luke Turner #69, 3rd Daniel Evans #122

19” Dirt Track
1st Josh Scott #55, 2nd Luke Turner #69, 3rd Lewis Tyne #L27

Pro 250
1st Josh Scott #55, 2nd Dale Austin #134, 3rd James Chapman #69

1st Dale Austin #134

Pro Open
1st Ken Bisley #46, 2nd Kye Andrews #112, 3rd Josh Scott #55

Pro 450
1st Josh Scott #55, 2nd Kye Andrews #112, 3rd Beau Baff 169#


Sonny Spurgin #114
Blake Nicholson #15

Division 2
Eason Cross #52

65cc 7-U9yrs
1st Hayden Grant #321, 2nd Logan Turner #12, 3rd Harvey Nicholson #115

65cc 9-U13yrs
1st Zane Hopkins #291, 2nd Thoren Openshaw #296

80cc Mod. 8-U12yrs
1st Will Bisley #45, 2nd Bailey Lennon #271, 3rd Hayden Grant #321

Trail Bike 8-U12yrs
1st Harvey Nicholson #115

85cc SW 8-U12yrs
1st Thoren Openshaw #296, 2nd Zane Hopkins #291, 3rd Will Bisley #45

85cc 11-U14yrs Combined
1st Hayden Nelson #279, 2nd Thoren Openshaw #296, 3rd Will Bisley #45

85cc 12-U16yrs
1st Will Bisley #45, 2nd Hayden Lennon #310, 3rd Mitchell Provost #617

Junior Combined
1st Mitchell Bisley #107, 2nd Hayden Lennon #310

Junior 250cc
1st Mitchell Bisley #107, 2nd Hayden Lennon #310

Taree Motorcycle Club thanks all riders, riders’ support teams, officials, volunteers and spectators for their contribution towards making the Championship event both enjoyable and successful.