Warning: Illegal string offset 'acf_fc_layout' in /home/customer/www/tareemotorcycleclub.com.au/public_html/wp-content/themes/main/inc/well-cms/class-custom-hero-image.php on line 62


.....where champions are made!

Blog categories

Taree Motorcycle Club Results from the 2018 Australian Junior Track Championship at Tamworth

Posted on October 8, 2018 by Administrator

Taree Motorcycle Club juniors Zane Hopkins and Cody Wilby are now 2018 Australian Junior Track Champions.

The 2018 Australian Junior Track Championship was held on the 6th and 7th October at Tamworth Motorcycle Club’s Oakburn Park.

Zane Hopkins was placed 1st in the 65cc 7-U9yrs class and Cody Wilby was placed 1st in the 80cc modified class.

Taree Motorcycle Club Secretary, Barry Evans, spoke to Zane’s dad, John, and Cody’s mum, Jo, on Monday.

John commented that Zane had experienced ups and downs at a number of this year’s open meetings and had come close a few times. However, at Tamworth on the weekend, everything came together with Zane getting the “hole-shot” in the final and not being “headed”. (Zane led all the way from start to finish.)

Zane was riding a 65cc KTM and John expressed his appreciation to Ian Bisley and Garth Wilby who do all the work on the bike. John also wanted to thank Magic Mud Rendering and Farelly Construction Services for sponsoring Zane.

John described Zane’s reaction to his title win as his being “super excited” and “over the moon”.

Jo Wilby described Cody as being “ecstatic” and “wrapped”. Jo commented that it was a good day.

Cody was riding an 80cc modified Honda and he was third out of gate in the final, second by first corner and was leading the race by the end of the second lap.

Jo wanted to thank Mitch Bisley for lending Cody his bike, and GJW Haulage, KDP Engineering and Carey Constructions for sponsoring Cody.

Taree Motorcycle Club congratulations Zane and Cody on winning their Australian titles.

The Club would also like to congratulate Mitch Bisley who was placed 3rd in the 85/150 B/W class and Will Bisley who was placed 3rd in the 10-14yrs modified class. While we were hoping for a comment from the Bisleys, they could not be contacted on Monday.

While four of the Club’s juniors achieved podium finishes at Tamworth, a contingent of seven (7) Taree Motorcycle Club juniors in total competed in the 2018 Australian Junior Track Championship – #107 Mitch Bisley, #81 Kurtis Wilby, #18 Blake Wilby, #19 Cody Wilby (Wilby Brothers Racing), #45 Will Bisley, #279 Hayden Nelson and #291 Zane Hopkins.

Whether or not they achieved a podium finish, Taree Motorcycle Club acknowledges the efforts of all their juniors and “support crews” on the weekend at Tamworth.


Back Row (L to R) Mitch Bisley, Kurtis Wilby, Blake Wilby, Cody Wilby, Will Bisley
Front Row (L to R) Hayden Nelson and Zane Hopkins.