Warning: Illegal string offset 'acf_fc_layout' in /home/customer/www/tareemotorcycleclub.com.au/public_html/wp-content/themes/main/inc/well-cms/class-custom-hero-image.php on line 62


.....where champions are made!

Blog categories

TROY BAYLISS ASBK Round 7 (Phillip Island) and 2018 Championship

Posted on October 17, 2018 by Administrator

On the ‘Phillip Island Circuit’ (PIC) website, the Latest News Headline dated 14 October reads: “BAYLISS SENDS OUT 2018 ASBK ON A HIGH” and the mcnews website, the headline was “Troy Bayliss ends season on a high with race & round win”.

Round 7, the final round, of the 2018 Australian Superbike (ASBK) Championship was held at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria on the 12th to 14th October.

The Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit was first opened in 1956 and is described on the Australian Superbike website as “the most iconic circuit on the ASBK calendar and one of the most popular circuits with both our national and international competitors”.

The Phillip Island circuit is further described as “A classic and purpose built motorcycle track that is undulating, fast and flowing suits the rhythm of motorcycling riding perfectly” and that it “boasts one of the highest average top speeds for any track around the world, the combination of fast flowing sweepers, rolling undulations and tight hairpins this is one circuit that balances out the strength and weakness of various machines and riding styles. It means you’re almost always guaranteed close racing”.

The PIC website reported that Troy Bayliss (Desmosport Ducati, 1299 Panigale) had taken the overall round in exceptional circumstances – with a victory in Race Two sealing the overall victory for the rider at the last round of the 2018 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship season.

PIC provided a detailed description of both Race 1 and Race 2.

Included in PIC’s report on Race One was that when Josh Waters (Suzuki) and Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha) were running first and second, Bayliss, in third position, closed in with phenomenal pace on the top two. Eventually, Bayliss caught them and what ensued was “a battle for the ages”.

The PIC news article went on to detail that by the mid-stages of the race, the top three were “miles in front” and looked stronger than the rest of the field. Bayliss made his move on lap nine and took the lead into turn one, his Ducati delivering him the power he needed and leading on the final lap. It looked like he was in the box seat to take the win.

However, Waters struck back and took the lead on the final lap to take a victory. Maxwell passed Bayliss at Lukey Heights to take second and Bayliss took third place.

Included in PIC’s report on Race Two was that Bayliss took a win to remember at Phillip Island – the win marking a very successful season for the Ducati rider, who also managed to secure third place in the championship.

The PIC news article reported that expectations were at a high after an incredible Race One – and Race Two delivered, with a very competitive top four of Troy Bayliss, Bryan Staring (Kawasaki), Josh Waters and Wayne Maxwell battling it out.

The final lap was full of drama with Bayliss leading as they crossed the start finish straight. Waters made a daring move and took the lead, but crashed at the end of Lukey Heights. Bayliss then “sailed past to take victory”, in front of Staring in second and Maxwell in third.

The 2018 ASBK Calendar was as follows:
Pre-Season Official ASBK Test – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC  January 30th – 31st
Round 1 – WSBK, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit VIC                            February 22nd – 25th
Round 2 – Wakefield Park Raceway, Goulburn NSW                              March 16th – 18th
Round 3 – The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA                          April 19th – 22nd
Round 4 – Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                        June 28th – 1st July
Round 5 – Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                    August 17th – 19th
Round 6 – Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                    September 7th – 9th
Round 7 – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                      October 12th – 14th

After the final round of the Yamaha Motor Finance 2018 Australian Superbike Championship, the final positions are as follows:

1st Troy Herfoss #17, Machine: Honda, Total Points: 321.5
2nd Wayne Maxwell #47, Machine: Yamaha, Total Points: 276
3rd Troy Bayliss #21, Machine: Ducati, Total Points: 273

Taree Motorcycle Club would like to congratulate Troy Bayliss on his successful 2018 Australian Superbike season.

Additionally, well done to Troy’s son, Oli, who was placed 4th in the Supersports 300 Championship.